About the Bishop

Patrick W. Bell was elected the Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Eastern Oregon on December 12, 2015 on the first ballot and was consecrated on April 16, 2016 in Bend, Oregon. Upon consecration Bell became the 1,092nd Bishop consecrated for the Episcopal Church. His primary residence will be in Coeur d’Alene, and he will commute to Oregon to work as the Bishop on a part-time basis.

Bell was born and raised in the northern Palouse region of Washington. Raised as an Episcopalian, Bell became a Pentecostal minister and professor before returning to the Episcopal Church. After completing additional seminary studies he was ordained to the priesthood in 1989 by Bishop Rustin Kimsey and began work at St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church in Ontario, Oregon. In 2002 Bell was named the rector of St. Luke’s in Coeur d’Alene. Bell is married to TinaMarie Bell, and has five children and eight grandchildren.

Diocesan Clergy

Bishops of the
Episcopal Diocese
of Eastern Oregon

Robert L. Paddock (1907-1922)
William P. Remington (1922-1945)
Lane W. Barton (1946-1968)
William B. Spofford (1969-1979)
Rustin R. Kimsey (1980-2000)
William O. Gregg (2000-2007)
Bavi E. (Nedi) Rivera (2009-2016)
Patrick W. Bell (2016-Present)

The Rev. Katy Anderson (ECLA)
Pastor – All Saints Episcopal/Hope Lutheran, Heppner
revkaty.anderson@gmail.com

The Rev. Dcn. Charles Barnes
Deacon – St. John’s, Hermiston
crbarnes@eotnet.net

The Rt. Rev. Patrick Bell
Bishop of the Diocese of Eastern Oregon
pbell@episdioeo.org

The Rev. Aletha Bonebrake
Vicar–St. Stephen’s, Baker City
alethaboneb@msn.com

The Rev. Marianne Borg (licensed)
Priest
mariannewborg@comcast.net

The Rev. Katherine Brick (ELCA)
Pastor – St. Marks + Hope Lutheran, Madras
kathbrick@gmail.com

The Rev. Jeffery Bullock (licensed)
Priest – Supply
j.bullock@me.com

The Rev. Celine Burke (licensed)
Priest – Chaplain to the Retired Clergy
Celineburke46@gmail.com

The Rev. Susan Church (licensed)
Priest – Supply
Stmavis8@gmail.com

The Rev. Chuck Christopher
St. Alban’s, Redmond
friarchuck@gmail.com

The Rev. Jack Coffey (ELCA)
Pastor-St. Paul’s, Klamath Falls
coffeyline@gmail.com

 

The Rev. John Collins
Assisting Priest-Church of the Transfiguration, Sisters and Trinity Episcopal, Bend
jrcsisters@gmail.com

The Rev. Dcn. Jean Cupp
Deacon– Church of the Redeemer, Pendleton
fwcupp@gmail.com

The Rev. Jack Erskine
Non-Parochial
Jerskine15@msn.com

The Rev. Dcn. Roger Fairfield
Deacon – Church of the Transfiguration, Sisters
rfairfield@bendcable.com

The Rev. Dcn. Georgia Giacobbe
Deacon-St. Paul’s, The Dalles
dngeorgia@gmail.com

The Rev. Willa Goodfellow
Non-parochial
willagoodfellow@gmail.com

The Rev. Nancy Sargent Green
Rector/ Senior Pastor
All Saints of the Cascades/Sunriver Christian Fellowship
nsm523@aol.com

The Rev. Roy Green
Interim Rector-St. Mark’s, Hood River
spiritdancer118@gmail.com

The Rev. Rebecca Hendricks
Vicar–St. James, Milton-Freewater
fruitvale@hughes.net

The Rev. Jed Holdorph
Rector, Trinity, Bend
jed@trinitybend.org

The Rev. Dcn. Gaye Lawson
Deacon–Trinity, Bend
glawson@bendcable.com

 

The Rev Dan Lediard
danlediard@aol.com

The Rev Matthew Littau
St. Andrew’s Episcopal/Peace Lutheran/
Church of the Living Waters, Burns
matthewlittau@msn.com

The Rev. Mary R. Lujan
Priest-Non-parochial
oregonmary@gorge.net

The Rev. Kathryn Macek
Rector, St. Peter’s, La Grande
kathrynmacek@aol.com

The Rev. William Paul Morton
Missional Priest
wpm1025@bendbroadband.com

The Rev. Dcn. Marilyn Roth
Deacon– St. Paul’s, The Dalles and St. Mark’s, Hood River
marilyn.roth60@gmail.com

The Rev. Dcn. Steve Schafroth
Deacon–St. Paul’s, The Dalles
schafroth@embarqmail.com

The Rev. Richard Stevens
Priest-St. Paul’s, The Dalles
redstevensgsm@gmail.com

The Rev. Richard H. Thew
Circuit rider–Cove
thewr@coveoregon.com

The Rev. Dcn. Janet Warner
Deacon–St. Andrew’s, Prineville
janetwarner247@yahoo.com

The Rev. Charlotte Wells
Rector-Church of the Redeemer, Pendleton
rector.pendletonepiscopal@gmail.com

Retired Clergy

The Rev. Rich Attebury
rattebur@gmail.com

The Rev. Dcn. Connie Boone
connieboone880@gmail.com

The Rev. Larry Ferguson
laranna@crestviewcable.com

The Rev. Larry Fredrick

The Rev. Daniel Gardner
Dang1939@gmail.com

The Rev. John Gilsdorf
jkgilsdorf@centurylink.net

The Rev. John Herlocker
bobnpeg2@gmail.com

The Rev. Lewis Hodgkins
bfhodgkin@gmail.com

The Rev. Dcn. Willie Hoffer

The Rev. Martha Hurlburt
marthahurlburt@gmail.com

The Rev. Douglas Jerome
Dpjerome1@hotmail.com

The Rev. Robert Kaye
RPSKDRK@msn.com

The Rev. Jan Kozak
Kozaks79@yahoo.com

The Rev. Rich Landrith
RSLandrith@gmail.com

The Rev. John Langfeldt
abunajn@gmail.com

The Rev. Dcn. Larry Mahon
larrymahon@comcast.net

The Rev. Dcn. Carol Jean McClelland
dandcmcclelland@hotmail.com

The Rev. Jim Mosier
mosierjim@gmail.com

The Rev. John Nesbitt
nesbittjr@frontier.com

The Rev. Carol Parker
jecapar@live.com

The Rev. Ted Rodrigues
therevted@mac.com

The Rev. Carol Rose
cbr195032@yahoo.com

The Rev. Janet Schiering
jcsalpha@gorge.net

The Rev. Anne Scissons
ascisns4@live.com

The Rev. Sarah Stanton
sstanton065@gmail.com

The Rev. Richard Thew
thewr@coveoregon.com

The Rev. Steve Uffelman
suffelman1@gmail.com

The Rev. Eugene Van Beveren

The Rev. Gary Young
garyyong.hoodriver@gmail.com

Diocesan Staff

Diocese Staff

Bishop
The Rt. Rev. Patrick Bell
P.O. Box 236
Cove, OR 97824
pbell@episdioeo.org

Diocesan Administrator and Executive Assistant to the Bishop
Lisa Boquist
lboquist@episdioeo.org

Diocesan Communications
communications@episdioeo.org

Chancellor
James Foster
jfoster@fosteryoung.com

Transitional Minister
The Rev. Lee Kiefer
509-421-0680
leekiefer@gmail.com

Ascension School Camp & Conference Center

Kim Lee, Operations Manager
office@episdioeo.org

Diocesan Council

Bill Taylor (2017)
Redeemer, Pendleton
btaylor@wtechlink.us

Marjorie Thelen (2017)
St. Andrew’s, Burns
marjoriethelen@gmail.com

The Rev. Georgia Giacobbe (2017)
St. Paul’s, The Dalles
dngeorgia@gmail.com

Karly Nash (2018)
Trinity, Bend
karlynash66@gmail.com

Vicki Mosier (2018)
St. Matthew’s, Ontario
vickimosier@yahoo.com

The Rev. Aletha Bonebrake (2018)
St. Stephen’s, Baker City
alethabonebrake@msn.com

Beth Spell (2019)
St. Thomas’, Canyon City
jimandbethspell@gmail.com

Adrienne Brown (2019)
Church of the Transfiguration, Sisters
anbviola@bendbroadband.com

The Rev. Charlotte Wells (2019)
Church of the Redeemer, Pendleton
rector.pendletonepiscopal@gmail.com

Ex-Officio Members

Randy Heise, Treasurer
Sunriver Chirstian Fellowship, Sunriver
randyh@greywolfstudios.com

Arnold Coe, Asst. Treasurer
St. Peter’s, La Grande
coe@eoni.com

Douglas Harder, Secretary of Convention
Church of the Redeemer, Pendleton
harder.doug@gmail.com

2017 Council Meetings

Notes will be available in early May.

Standing Committee

The Rev. Jed Holdorph (2017)
Trinity, Bend
jed@trnitybend.org

The Rev. Nancy Sargent McGrath Green (2018)
Sunriver Christian Fellowship, Sunriver
nsm2sis@gmail.com

Julie Reynolds (2018)
St. Paul’s, The Dalles
julierey@charter.net

Mary Link (2019)
Sunriver Christian Fellowship, Sunriver
mylink1941@gmail.com

The Rev. Mary Lujan (2019)
White Salmon, WA
oregonmary@gorge.net

Commission on Ministry

DCOM Members:

Rt. Rev. Patrick Bell, Bishop

Robert Thomson (2017)
St. Mark’s, Hood River
rthomson50@me.com

The Rev. Katy Anderson (2017)
All Saints/Hope Lutheran, Heppner
rekaty.anderson@gmail.com

The Rev. Dcn. Marilyn Roth (2017)
St. Paul’s, The Dalles
marilyn.roth60@gmail.com

The Rev. Jan Kozak (2018)
Madras
kozaks79@yahoo.com

The Rev. John Collins (2018)
Transfiguration, Sisters
jrcsisters@gmail.com

Diane Adams (2018)
St. Paul’s, The Dalles
drna@charter.net

Kathy Thew (2019)
St. Peter’s, La Grande
kjsewist@coveorgon.com

Beth Spell (2019)
St. Thomas’, Canyon City
jimandbethspell@gmail.com

The Rev. Aletha Bonebrake (2019)
St. Stephen’s, Baker City
alethaboneb@msn.com

David Silva (2019)
Church of the Redeemer, Pendleton
DDavidSilva@msn.com

License Requirements:

Lay Eucharistic Ministers, Eucharistic Visitors, Worship Leaders and Lay Preachers must be licensed with the diocese.

Application and Renewal Forms:

More Information and Resources:

Finance Committee

The finance committee prepares the annual diocesan budget and presents it to Diocesan Council for approval.

The Rt. Rev.Patrick Bell, Bishop

Karen Bounds
St. John’s,  Hermiston
karenbounds@gmail.com

Edd Doorn
Trinity, Bend
edoorn1@gmail.com

Kim McClain
Ascension School Executive Director
kmcclain@coveascensionschool.com

Jerry Frazier
St. Paul’s, The Dalles
jerry1.frazier@gmail.com

Arnold Coe, Assistant Treasurer
St. Peter’s, La Grande
acoe@eoni.com

Randy Heise, Diocesan Treasurer
Sunriver Christian Fellowship, Sunriver
randyh@greywolfstudios.com

Ascension School Board

The Ascension School Board operates in an advisory capacity.

Ascension Board members:

The Rt. Rev. Patrick Bell, Bishop

Chuck Barnes
St. John’s, Hermiston
chuckb@eotnet.net

Robin Barnes
St. John’s, Hermiston
crbarnes@eotnet.net

Joel Bigelow
St. Stephen’s, Baker City
bigelow@relianceconnects.com

Cathy Cowherd
Milwaukie
cathycowherd@gmail.com

Cindy Feibert
St. Matthews, Ontario
CFeibert@tvcc.cc

Laurance Kerr
St. Paul’s The Dalles
ask-lfk@gorge.net

 

 

Ava Sue Kerr
St. Paul’s The Dalles
ask-lfk@gorge.net

Gretchen Kimsey
St. Paul’s, The Dalles
gretchenbk@gorge.net

Kim McClain
Executive Director
kmcclain@coveascensionschool.com

Nod Palmer
St. Peter’s, La Grande
nodpalmer@gmail.com

Linda Palmer
St. Peter’s, La Grande

Julie Reynolds, Diocesan Council Liaison
Canyon City
julierey@charter.net

The Rev Richard Thew
Cove
thewr@coveoregon.com

The Eastern Oregon Episcopal Foundation

About the Foundation

The Eastern Oregon Episcopal Foundation (EOEF), which oversees a permanent revolving loan fund, was created in 1952 by the 42nd annual Convocation of the Missionary District of Eastern Oregon. The Foundation’s investments presently total about $450,000. In addition, EOEF owns a farm in Athena, Oregon, whose earnings are shared equally by the Foundation, Ascension School, and the diocese. The Bishop is chair of the Foundation Committee and its Board of Trustees.

The Foundation’s purpose, as defined in its articles of incorporation, is “the general furtherance of The Episcopal Church and its mission in eastern Oregon” and the establishment of a permanent fund providing low-cost or interest-free loans of up to 10 years’ duration to finance building projects – building repairs or capital improvements – for parishes and congregations in the diocese.

The Foundation Committee, whose membership includes a member of the laity from each parish in the diocese, meets annually at Diocesan Convention. The Board of Trustees, elected from the Foundation Committee, reviews and administers requests for grants and loans. Grants are confined to projects “for the formation, education and training of the people of the diocese for mission and ministry and/or emergency building grants.”

Information about grants and loans, and application forms, are posted below.

Grants Information:

Foundation Trustees:

The Rt. Rev.Patrick Bell, Bishop

G Royes (2017)
St. Peter’s, La Grande
gval@oregonwireless.net

Joel Bigelow (2018)
St. Stephen’s, Baker City
bigelow@relianceconnects.com

Janeal Booren (2018)
St. Paul’s, The Dalles
janealb@hotmail.com

Lawerence Kerr (2018)
St. Paul’s, The Dalles
lfk-asdk@gorge.net

Dave Keeler (2019)
Church of the Redeemer, Pendleton
dkeeler62@gmail.com

Don Scott (2019)
St. Alban’s, Redmond
sunfish@bendbroadband.com

Commission on Celebrating Diversity

Vision Statement

We recognize and acknowledge all people are equal and beloved children of God.
We envision building strong communities of a broad diversity of people.

Action Statement

We support and encourage congregations and communities to expand their cultural awareness, and we offer resources such as diagnostic materials to promote more welcoming environments.

May 19-21, 2016: Meeting notes and Reading Resources